

FOREWARD

In December 2007, arrangements were made to welcome about two thousand participants to Acoustics'08 Paris. One could imagine our surprise on January 10th, when we received more than 3 500 abstracts (3 000 in one night)! That is the Magic of Paris!

Thanks to the involvement of more than 500 colleagues from both sides of the Atlantic in organizing sessions and to the active support of the ASA, the EAA, the SFA and all the National Societies of Europe, Acoustics' 08 Paris is the largest conference on acoustics ever organized with an expected attendance of 4 500 delegates, 3 500 abstracts, 1 100 full papers and 60 exhibitors!

Many thanks are due to the individuals and institutions who have actively contributed to the success of this Conference. Thanks are also extended to the institutions and companies that helped, through their generous sponsorship, in achieving this success. In particular, we note that more than one thousand students will attend the Conference. The large number of student participants emphasizes the great interest of future generations in the various disciplines of acoustics.

By bringing together six events in one location (154th Meeting of the Acoustical Society of America, 5th FORUM ACUSTICUM, 9th Congrès Français d'Acoustique, 7th EUROpean conference on NOISE control, 9th European Conference on Underwater Acoustics and the 60th anniversary of the Société Française d'Acoustique), Acoustics' 08 Paris is a fantastic platform of exchange—gathering about a fourth of the world's acousticians.

We hope that you will have a nice stay in Paris and many fruitful exchanges and discussions.

Bienvenue à Paris.

The Organizing Committee

Organizing Committee

co-chairs: Bertrand Dubus, SFA, Michael Vorländer, EAA, William Yost, ASA, Manell Zakharia, SFA

- Didier Cassereau, SFA, Information System Manager
- Bertrand Dubus, SFA, Exhibition
- Bastian Epp, EAA Student Representative
- Guillaume Pellerin, Webmaster
- Catherine Lavandier, SFA, Secretary
- Francine Luppé, SFA, Publications
- Manuel Melon, SFA, Webmaster, Vice-treasurer
- Brian Monson, Michael Canney, ASA Student Representatives
- Jean Dominique Polack, Archives and Publications
- Franck Teston, SFA, Treasurer
- ASA: Elaine Moran (ASA Office Manager), Charles Schmid (ASA Executive Director)
- SFA: Evelyne Dewayse (SFA Secretary), Armelle Guilloux (Conference Secretary)

Technical Program Organizing Committee

co-chairs: Philippe Blanc-Benon, SFA, Dick Botteldooren, EAA, William Hartmann, ASA, Pascal Laugier, SFA

- AA: Architectural Acoustics: Lily Wang, Brandon Tinianov, ASA, Jens Holger Rindel, EAA
- AB: Animal Bioacoustics: Richard Fay, ASA, Michel André, EAA
- BB: Biomedical Ultrasound / Bioresponse to Vibration: Michael Bailey, ASA, Oleg Sapozhnikov, EAA
- EA: Engineering Acoustics: Daniel Warren, ASA, Gerhard Sessler, EAA
- MU: Musical Acoustics: James Beauchamp, ASA, Murray Campbell, EAA
- NS: Noise: Brigitte Schulte-Fortkamp, ASA, Pierre-Etienne Gautier, euronoise
- PA: Physical Acoustics: Murray Korman, ASA, Walter Lauriks, EAA
- PP: Psychological / Physiological Acoustics: Elizabeth Strickland, ASA, Armin Kohlrausch, EAA
- SP: Signal Processing in Acoustics: David Chambers, ASA, Stephen Elliott, EAA
- SC: Speech Communication: Maureen Stone, ASA, Carol Espy-Wilson, ASA, Pierre Badin, EAA Xavier Pelorson, AFCP (Association Française de Communication Parlée)
- SA: Structural Acoustics and Vibration: Sean Wu, ASA, Wolfgang Kropp, EAA
- UA: Underwater Acoustics & AO: Acoustical Oceanography: James Miller, ASA/AO, Kevin LePage, ASA/UW, Yann Stéphan ecua, David Bradley ecua

ecua Committee co-chairs: David Bradley, ASA, Yann Stéphan, SFA

ASA Liaison

- Michael Buckingham, USA
- Kenneth Foote, USA
- Oleg Godin, USA
- William Kuperman, USA
- James Lynch, USA
- Henrik Schmidt, USA
- Eric Thorsos, USA
- Ross Chapman, Canada
- James Miller, USA, ASA/AO
- Kevin LePage, USA, ASA/UW

ecua

- Leif Bjørnø, Denmark
- Philippe Blondel, UK
- Giovanni Cannelli, Italy
- Jean-Pierre Hermand, Belgium
- Sergio M. Jesus, Portugal
- Even Borten Lunde, Norway
- Nicholas Pace, UK
- John Papadakis, Greece
- Dick Simons, Netherlands
- Andrzej Stepnowski, Poland
- Manell Zakharia, France

EAA, TC Hydroacoustics

- Eugeniusz Kozaczka (TC chair), Poland
- Bodo Nolte, Germany
- Michael Taroudakis, Greece

euronoise Committee

co-chairs: Brigitte Schulte-Fortkamp, ASA, Pierre-Étienne Gautier, SFA

ASA Liaison

- Bennett Brooks, USA
- Anthony Hoover, USA
- Luc Mongeau, Canada
- James Nelson, USA
- Michael Stinson, Canada

euronoise

- Bernard Berry, UK
- Luigi Maffei, İtaly
- Joachim Scheuren (TC chair), Germany
- Jean Tourret, France

EAA, TC Noise

- Keith Attenborough, UK
- Michel Bérengier, France
- Giovanni Brambilla, Italy
- Geert Degrande, Belgium
- Klaus Genuit, Germany
- Barbara Griefahn, Germany
- Michael Griffin, UK
- Jean-Louis Guyader, France
- Fabrice Junker, France
- Sabine Meunier, France
- Anna Preis, Poland